Walnuts

Here is a literary experiment in merging form and meaning. Let me know what you think.

“How come they don’t get it? I tell them what I will tell them, tell them, and then tell them what I told them. Still it goes in one ear and out the other.”

“And you’re telling me this why?”

“You’re the Communications Professor. You’re supposed to be an expert at communicating. It’s like, your job.”

“I can’t solve all your problems.”

“No instead you sit at your desk and eat nuts.”

“I happen to be like walnuts, would you like one.”

“You know you can buy bags of walnuts without the shells.”

“I know, but I enjoy cracking them myself.”

“It’s a lot of extra work, which you could instead give to helping your students.”

“I think the kernel tastes better when I extract it myself and I have 99 other students who are doing fine. Why should I care about one little lost sheep?”

“I’m not in the mood for parables.”

“Evidently not.”

“If you’re not going to help me I am going to leave.”

“Okay.”

Leave a Reply

