Stories: Everyones Got’em

The story of Christ is simply a true myth—C.S. Lewis

            I have been thinking a lot about myth and stories lately.  Stories have a power to persuade and teach that lectures and textbooks don’t.  I find myself identifying with people in stories and often use their experiences to workout ideas in my mind.  A story may not be true, but it can still carry truth.  C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien’s myths have taught me a lot, especially spiritually, even if they don’t mention God.  Maybe that is why Jesus told so many parables.  They were not true, in the sense that they didn’t actually happen, but they did contain God’s truth.  Furthermore, 40% of the Old Testament is written in narrative, story, form.  Five of the largest New Testament books are written almost entirely as narratives.  The events recorded in the Bible did take place, they are true, and they teach truth through their stories.

            I have also been thinking a lot about the story of my own life.  You probably have had the feeling when reading a story that things were not going how they were suppose too.  Either the plot was going to slow or to fast or maybe a character that you liked changed in way that you disliked.  Possibly the protagonist went through something that doesn’t seem to fit or the story line is appeared disorganized or the big one of “it can’t end like that.”  That is how I have felt a lot lately with the story God is writing with my life.  I don’t really like the way it is going.  Secretly, I have a feeling that I can write a better story.  Mine would have epic disasters and sorrows along with soaring joys, victories, and accomplishments, along with winning the maiden of course.  Something tells me this is wrong though.

            First, the story would really become all about me.  I would become the main character.  That is not how things should be.  Life’s story is really like one story in an anthology of stories and the central character of the story should be God.  He is the one it is all about.  Second, is that the characters in a story don’t get to create the story.  They may write their stories in retrospect, but they are not the author.  God is the Author of our life stories.  The danger comes when we try to take over and write our own life story.  That is where sin comes in.  To take the analogy further, God is the only author that stepped into the story he was writing in Jesus Christ to live among the characters he had created. 

            I still don’t feel good about how things are going.  I “know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  The story that He is writing is the best even if it doesn’t seem like it.  The stories of his other servants confirm it.  Hopefully, I will feel like it in time. 

One comment

  1. Ben Funkhouser · June 10, 2009

    Caleb, these are words of wisdom 🙂 I know that God is working in your life- I can see the fruit of your relationship with Him and I can tell you firsthand that I am encouraged to grow closer to God because of your example and integrity.

Leave a Reply

